GCC Adds 27 to Technology Honor Society Roster

Monday, May 16, 2016

Gateway Community College had the largest number of students (27) inducted into the Gamma Phi Chapter of Epsilon Pi Tau, an International Honor Society for Technology. The ceremony was held at the SBM Charitable Foundation Auditorium at Manchester Community College on April 22, 2016.

As defined by their organizational purpose, “EPT recognizes the academic excellence of students in fields devoted to the study of technology and the preparation of practitioners for technology professions. Epsilon Pi Tau also extends the honor of membership and advancement activities to outstanding practitioners in the technology professions, scholars with exemplary research interests in technology in society, and individuals who have significantly supported or advanced technology professions.”

The mission of Epsilon Pi Tau is to serve, support, and strengthen the technology professions through publications, conferences, thought, leadership, and alliances with corporations, professional associations, government agencies and other organizations.

Among GCC’s inductees was Mahmoud Hamza, (an Engineering major) who has been a shining representative of what Epsilon Pi Tau stands for. Hamza is a tactile learner who loves partaking in all kind of projects and learning new skills. In the eighth grade, Mahmoud designed a system that uses sunlight or any source of light to illuminate multiple rooms through a tubing and magnification system. This system has been modified and is currently being used in commercial and industrial spaces. Hamza stated, “Once I have completed my associate’s degree, I will attend the University of New Haven, double majoring in mechanical and aerospace engineering.”

This is a distinguished honor for all students inducted, and Gateway Community College is very proud of each and every one of the inductees: Byron Alvarado; Nesar Amini; Joel Aviles; Abdulwadood Aziz; Nadia Bentahir; Omer Bilivogui; Zack Bortolan; Carlos Cabral; Stephanie Cherry; Corey Clark; Imani DaSilva; Inese Duarte; Jonathan Duarte; Sarah Garcia; Rod Gonzalez; Ashlie Grasa; Toshiro Hackett; Mahmoud Hamza; William Hill; John Ireland; Daniel Montanez; Russell Munson; Donato Piroscafo; Jueda Shytko; Josue Torres; Tremain Turner; Marian Whitney 

GCC congratulates the newest members of Gamma Phi Chapter of Epsilon Pi Tau on their achievements.