Jerry Franklin to Receive President’s Award for Community Leadership at Gateway Community College

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Gateway Community College (GCC) is pleased to announce that President Paul Broadie II has selected Jerry Franklin, recently retired president and chief executive officer of Connecticut Public Broadcasting, Inc. (CPBI), as the distinguished recipient of the President’s Award to be given at the college’s Commencement Ceremony, May 23 at the Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport.

Each year, President Broadie presents the President’s Award at the graduation ceremony to recognize and acknowledge special members of the community who have distinguished themselves as outstanding supporters of education and GCC.  Franklin’s responsibilities included overseeing the Connecticut Public Broadcasting Network (CPBN); the state’s only locally owned media organization producing television, radio, print, and Internet content over a variety of media channels for distribution to Connecticut’s wide-ranging and diverse communities.

CPBN broadcasts digital television channels CPTV and CPTVSpirit and five radio stations, including WNPR.  Under Franklin’s leadership, CPTV won two National Daytime Emmy Awards, over 100 Regional Emmy Awards, seven CINE Golden Eagle, and one Gracie Allen Award.  WNPR earned two George Foster Peabody Awards, five Ohio State Awards, two Gracie Allen Awards, and more than 60 Associated Press Awards, including eight Mark Twain Awards for Overall Station Excellence.  Prior to joining CPBI, Franklin served as general manager of WGBY-TV for the WGBH Educational Foundation in Boston, Massachusetts.

Franklin has over 38 years of experience in mass media and the broadcasting industry.  He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Boston/New England Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) Silver Circle Award (2013), a special recognition that honors television professionals who have made significant contributions to their community, the television industry, and to individuals training for careers in the field of television.  In 2014, he was inducted into the Junior Achievement Business Hall of Fame, and the Hartford Business Journal gave him a Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to the most noted and successful leaders within their company, industry or community.  In 2016, Franklin received an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Eastern Connecticut State University.