Business Department

At Gateway Community College, a business degree or certificate provides you with valuable knowledge and skills that give you the flexibility to work in a variety of positions across many industries. We offer associate’s degrees in accounting, business administration, business office technology, business studies, entrepreneurship, fashion merchandising, hotel management, management, marketing, public utility management, restaurant and food service management, and retail management. Certificates can be earned as a first step toward the A.S. or A.A. degree or as a credential to round out your skills for a promotion or a new job.

Computer Science has an impact on many tasks that are performed daily: from writing documents to organizing and analyzing data on a spreadsheet, to managing computer networks, creating a Web site or a mobile application, or utilizing system applications. Our Computer Science degree and certificate programs give you the opportunity to learn these technologies using a hands-on approach.

Your business and computer science studies at Gateway will give you a foundation for transferring to four-year institutions. Several of our programs are offered fully online. Faculty advisors will work with you to develop a personal plan of study to meet your personal and academic goals.

Click on your area of interest to direct you to the programs and requirements.

The following Business programs are offered at Gateway:


 

Department Chair- Prof. Sheri Valentin 203-285-2169; svalentin@GatewayCT.edu

Administrative Assistant – Wilhelmenia Parsons 203-285-2201; wparsons@GatewayCT.ed

 

Faculty/Advisors

Business Administration

Accounting, General Business, Management, Marketing

Prof. Lorraine Li 203-285-2285; lli@GatewayCT.edu

Prof. Kathy Murphy 203-285-2179; kmurphy@GatewayCT.edu

Rev. Prof. John Henry Scott III, Esq. 203-285-2171; jscott@GatewayCT.edu

Prof. Sheri Valentin (Department Chair) 203-285-2169; svalentin@GatewayCT.edu

Prof. Don Walker 203-285-2038; dwalker@GatewayCT.edu

Dr. Anne Williams 203-285-2170; awilliams@GatewayCT.edu

Sports Management

Prof. Todd Degree 203-285-2446; tdegree@GatewayCT.edu

Business Office Technology

Instructor Sandy Kraus (Program Coordinator) 203-285-2359; skraus@GatewayCT.edu

Computer Science and Computer Science Technology

Instructor Basheer Shabazz – William 203-285-2174; bshabazz-williams@GatewayCT.edu

Dr. Mirco Speretta 203-285-2629; msperetta@GatewayCT.edu

Prof. Stacy Walker (Program Coordinator) 203-285-2462; swalker@GatewayCT.edu

Entrepreneurial Studies

Prof. Rose Luglio (Program Coordinator) 203-285-2198; rluglio@GatewayCT.edu

Hospitality Management

Prof. Steven Fries 203-285-2175; sfries@GatewayCT.edu

Retail Management and Fashion Merchandising

Prof. Rose Luglio (Program Coordinator) 203-285-2198; rluglio@GatewayCT.edu

Public Utility Management

Prof. Wes Winterbottom 203-285-2354; wwinterbottom@GatewayCT.ed