Early Learning Center

 

The Early Learning Center at Gateway Community College

The EARLY LEARNING CENTER is now accepting applications for 2014 spring and fall. The NAEYC accredited, full-day pre-school serves children aged 3 to 5 from 7:30 am to 5:30 pm. Tuition includes breakfast, lunch and snacks, three instructional models, enrichment programs and parent resources.
Call (203) 285-2130 for more information.

The Early Learning Center at Gateway Community College is a fully licensed nationally accredited lab school for young children. The Center is based upon the concept that each child is an individual and should be able to develop at his or her own pace.

  • The Early Learning Center curriculum is concerned with providing hands-on sensory experiences to encourage children to think, analyze problems, and arrive at logical conclusions based on their own experience. The curriculum is centered around the interests, needs and abilities of the individual child.
  • The Early Learning Center provides a stimulating learning environment through three classroom models: Child Development, Modified Montessori, and Creative Curriculum.

 

Instructional Models

Child Development: This program focuses on the development of the whole child. The classroom environment is planned to allow opportunities for exploration and discovery. Learning through play, central themes, and developmentally appropriate activities are provided in a child-centered classroom. 

Modified Montessori: This curriculum model is based on the theory that sensory-cognitive learning influences affective development. This approach is individualized and the child learns about the world around him or her by observing, comparing, classifying, and reasoning through the use of self-correcting, didactic Montessori materials. 

Diversified Creative Curriculum: This curriculum is a comprehensive curriculum that provides the framework for a developmentally appropriate program for preschoolers. The beliefs and theories that guide curriculum development and implementation include an understanding of how children develop physically, socio-emotionally, and intellectually. The teachers are adaptable and flexible.

Weekly Fees (subject to change)
         Community: $210 Full-time
         Students: $140 Full-time

To be eligible for the student rates you must be enrolled in Gateway Community College for a minimum of three credits. New Haven families may apply for the School Readiness Grant Sliding Fee Scale.

 

Early Learning Center Hours
          The Early Learning Center is open Mondays through Fridays from 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM.
          Breakfast, lunch, and an afternoon snack are provided.

 

Early Learning Center Staff

Marge Weiner, Director

285- 2132

mweiner@gwcc.commnet.edu

Linda Alston

285-2133

lalston@gwcc.commnet.edu

Marie Helene N'Guessan

285-2133

mnguessan@gwcc.commnet.edu

Leasa Moon

285-2134

lmoon@gwcc.commnet.edu

Stella Okparanta

285-2130

sokparanta@gwcc.commnet.edu

Marion Williams

285-2135

mwilliams@gwcc.commnet.edu

Annmarie Amendola

285-2135

aamendola@gwcc.commnet.edu

Mary Palermo

285-2131

mpalermo@gwcc.commnet.edu